2017 Speakers


Dr. Dechen Tsering
Regional Director and Regional Representative for Asia and Pacific
UN Environment

Dr. Matthew Morell
Director General
International Rice Research Institute

Dr. Kundhavi Kadiresan
Assistant Director-General and Regional Representative for Asia and the Pacific
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations


James Lomax
Programme Management Officer
UN Environment

Mark Radka
Chief, Energy and Climate Branch, Economy Division
UN Environment

Dr. Wyn Ellis
Sustainable Rice Platform

Jan Willem Ketelaar
Chief Technical Officer
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), Thailand

Dr. David Dawe
Senior Economist
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), Bangkok

Peter Sprang
Technical Coordinator
Sustainable Rice Platform

Dr. Lucy Garrett
Specialist, Incentives for Ecosystem Services
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), Rome


Paul Nicholson
Vice President, Rice Research and Sustainability
Olam International

Luc Beerens
Global Sustainability Director
Mars Food

Chris Brown
Vice President
Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, Olam International

Nicholas Spencer
Executive Director
IBIS Rice Conservation Company Ltd, Cambodia

Clint Coo
Business Development Manager
Siam Organic, Thailand

Dr. Kon Kee Fui
Asia-Pacific Head of Crop Protection Development for Solutions
Syngenta, Singapore

Yong Lee Keng
Agriculture Services Manager
Nestle, Malaysia

Kenneth Kyaw Shein
Chief Executive Officer
PRIME Holdings, Myanmar

Andy Beadle
Global Sustainability and Product Stewardship – Crop Protection
BASF, Germany

Simon-Thorsten Wiebusch
Country Group Head, Southeast Asia, Crop Science Division

Ashutosh Kumar Sinha
Head- Agribusiness
LT Foods Limited, India

Pampapathy Gurulingappa
APAC Regional Product Development Manager
for DuPont™ Pyraxalt™

Mahesh Girdhar
Head of Crop Management, Rice

Somsak Samanwong
Asean Technology Transfer Leader
Dow AgroSciences, Thailand

Emmanuelle Bourgois
Chief Executive Officer
FairAgora Asia, Thailand


Dr. V. Bruce J. Tolentino
Deputy Director General
International Rice Research Institute

Dr. David Johnson
Leader for Sustainable Rice-based Production Systems Theme and Head, Crop & Environmental Sciences Division, International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)

Dr. Amitha Priyadardshani Bentota
Director, Rice Research and Development
Department of Agriculture, Sri Lanka

Dr. Yasukazu Hosen
Sub Project Leader
Japan International Research left for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS), Japan

Dr. Bjoern Ole Sander
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), Philippines

Dr. Rattanawan Mungkong
Kasetsart University, Thailand

Kazuyuki Yagi
Research Manager for Climate Change Institute for Agro-Environmental Sciences
National Agriculture and Food Research Organization (NARO), Tsukuba, Japan

Dr. Made Adnyana
Senior Researcher
Indonesian Agency for Agricultural Research and Development

Dr. Reiner Wassmann
Coordinator, Climate Change Research
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), Philippines

Dr. Petra Schmitter
Agricultural Water Management Researcher
International Water Management Institute (IWMI), Myanmar

Matty Demont
Senior Economist
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) , The Philippines

Sandra Khananusit
Independent Consultant
Sustainable Rice Platform

Jalini Kaushalya Galabada
Agricultural Economist
Socio Economics and Planning Centre, Sri Lanka

Dr. Bas Bouman
CGIAR Research Program on Rice Agri-Food Systems (RICE), International Rice Research Institute 

Mr. Suriyan Vichitlekarn
BRIA Regional Project Director
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Dr. Matthias Bickel
Program Director for Agriculture & Food
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Robert Ziegler
Director Emeritus
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)

Dr. Somporn Isvilanonda
Knowledge Network Institute of Thailand (KNIT), Thailand

Dr. Abha Mishra
Asian Center of Innovation for Sustainable Agriculture Intensification (ACISAI), Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Bangkok, Thailand

Nguyen Thi Phuong Nga
BRIA Vietnam
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Astari Widya Dharma
BRIA Regional Secretariat
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Dr. Nipon Poapongsakorn
Distinguished Fellow
Thailand Development Research Institute (TDRI), Thailand

Oliver Benjamin Frith
Head of Resource Mobilization
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)

Zhenzhen Xu
Regional Director – Asia Pacific
Alliance for Water Stewardship (AWS)

Lucy Fisher
Associate Director of Communications
SRI-Rice, Cornell University, USA

Joel D. Janiya
Senior Associate Scientist – Extension Agronomist
International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)

Dr. Grant Singleton
Principal Scientist
International Rice Research Institute

Jeremy Zwinger
President and CEO
The Rice Trader


Mary Grady
Deputy Director
American Carbon Registry, an enterprise of Winrock International, U.S.

Nguyet Minh Le
Global Agriculture Advisor

Dr. Andrew D Powell
Chief Executive, Officer/Secretariat Director
Asia BioBusiness Pte. Ltd./The Rice Bowl Index, Singapore  

Ashish Srivastava
State Program Coordinator, Rural Economy
Intercooperation Social Development, India

U Yan Lin
Member of Upper House of Myanmar’s Parliament and The Chairperson of The Parliamentary Council for Agriculture, Livestock & Rural Development

Lissy Van Noort
Program Manager
AKVO, Vietnam

Christ Vansteenkiste
Rice Cluster Coordinator

Dr. Apichai Thirathon
Agronomist and Environment Specialist
GMS Core Agricultural Support      

Jens Soth
Senior Advisor Value Chains & Sustainable Commodities
Helvetas Swiss Intercooperation


Georges Le Nigen
Global Sales Manager
SGS Transparency-One

Rachel Zedeck
Peterson Asia

Geert Eenhoorn
Rice Project Manager
UTZ, Netherlands

Dr. Thomas Unger
Managing Director
Eurofins Global Control GmbH, Germany

Dr. Sergiy Zorya
Senior Agricultural Economist
World Bank Group


Manuel Murrenhoff
Grain Logistics
Buhler, Germany

Eli Vered
R&D Senior Agronomist
Netafim, Israel

Dr. R. Sabarinathan
Manager, Agronomy, Tamilnadu & Kerala
Netafim Irrigation India Pvt. Ltd

Arindom Datta
Asia Head, Sustainability Banking
Rabo India Securities Limited, India

Yannick Foing
Regional Director – Nutrition Improvement Program, Asia Pacific
DSM, Singapore

Dr. Simon M. Holland
Chief Executive Officer
Barefoot Lightning Ltd, India

Kunal Prasad
Co-founder and Chief Operating Officer
CropIn Technology Solutions Pvt Ltd.

Aakash Parekh
Lead, International Sales
CropIn Technology Solutions Pvt Ltd.